Back with more song analyzing!

Yay!

I haven’t done this in a while because of school and having to write essays and research papers and all that crap all the time… and then after that doing another song analysis on my own time is really the last thing I wanna do, but now I have a short break between summer and fall semesters, so let’s take advantage of the free time I have!

So, let’s look at one of my ultimate favorite songs like it’s a plain poem. Tears Dry by Amy Winehouse is the one I’m planning to tackle today.

5-Amy-Winehouse-lollapalooza-2007-billboard-1548

Now, let’s go through the lyrics. If I have a comment to make as we go along, it’ll be like (in parentheses and italics). Sing along if you know the words real well (I know I will, haha)!


All I can ever be to you
Is a darkness that we know
And this regret I’ve got accustomed to
(It’s like she’s putting herself down right from the start… 😦 )
Once it was so right
When we were at our height
Waiting for you in the hotel at night
(Wink wink… haha.)
I knew I hadn’t met my match
But every moment we could snatch
I don’t know why I got so attached
(She knew he wasn’t ‘the one’, but she didn’t care, you know?)
It’s my responsibility
And you don’t owe nothing to me
But to walk away I have no capacity
(It’s her fault and her problem alone, not his, but she still can’t just walk away from him.

(Chorus…)
He walks away
The sun goes down
He takes the day but I’m grown
And in your way, in this blue shade
My tears dry on their own
(It’s all like this big sad scene, but she’s saying ‘I’m a big girl, though’ and that she can take care of herself at the end of the day. Hell yeah, girl!)

I don’t understand
Why do I stress the man
When there’s so many bigger things at hand
(Well… he obviously isn’t right for her.)
We could have never had it all
We had to hit a wall
So this is inevitable withdrawal
(It was gonna fall through for them and she knew it.)
Even if I stop wanting you
A perspective pushes through
I’ll be some next man’s other woman soon
(She already knows she’s gonna do this all over again with someone else.)
I can not play myself again
I should just be my own best friend
Not f*** myself in the head with stupid men
(Tellin’ herself she shouldn’t do it again and quite dating stupid men like that! Preach!)

(Back to the chorus…)
He walks away
The sun goes down
He takes the day but I’m grown
And in your way, in this blue shade
My tears dry on their own

So we are history
Your shadow covers me
The sky above ablaze
(They’re finally through! Though… his shadow and memory is still all over her and the sky/her head still isn’t quite cleared yet.)

(Chorus again…)
He walks away
The sun goes down
He takes the day but I’m grown
And in your way, in this blue shade
My tears dry on their own

I wish I could say no regrets
And no emotional debts
Cause as we kiss goodbye the sun sets
(She really, really wishes she could just get over him in a snap like that because they’re OVER and nothing’s changing it now… but, again, she can’t for some reason and that’s why she’s writing/singing this song about it.)
So we are history
The shadow covers me
The sky above ablaze that only lovers see

(And back to all this…)
He walks away
The sun goes down
He takes the day but I’m grown
And in your way, my blue shade
My tears dry on their own

He walks away
The sun goes down
He takes the day but I’m grown
And in your way, my deep shade
My tears dry on their own

He walks away
The sun goes down
He takes the day but I’m grown
And in your way, my deep shade
My tears dry on their own


So, what is this song about?

I think it’s pretty clearly been written as a follow-up to an awful break-up, and is meant to serve as… like, a self-empowering anthem at the same time. Amy wanted to get over that stupid man and she couldn’t quite do it, so she wrote a song to push herself through. She wanted to prove to herself that she could do it, she could be her own best friend, and her tears could dry on their own.

If anything else, though, this song reminds us that not all relationships work out or are meant to be. And people get hurt from them. And sometimes our instincts are false.

And that’s the story of this song…

_89672527_amyexc976.jpg

Really, though… I just love this song. And Amy Winehouse. Her words and music are just so pretty… and it’s tragic that she’s no longer with the world, but she left behind an amazing trove of artwork.

So, here’s to Amy, and here’s to… failed relationships. ❤

6a012876c0475b970c015433f60144970c

I hope you all have an amazing week and I’ll see you all back here… sometime again soon!

-iKari

Leave a Reply

