Ghosts & Shadows

Hey y’all, me again with yet another poem preview from Holding onto Stars!

This one’s called Ghosts & Shadows and it’s probably one of my faves so far…


Ghosts and shadows

Why won’t they go?

Another spirit left to haunt

My thoughts until the dawn

Another demon yet to chase

From the heart of which it stays

Ghosts and shadows

How much do they know?

I don’t know how much I can take

Of the souls unable to vacate

I don’t know why they chose me

Or why they drudge on so hopelessly

Ghosts and shadows

Why do they come so close?

If only I could see

Exactly what they need

If only they could cease

Their endless cruelty

Ghosts and shadows

How are they so cold?

Even when I try to stop them

They run their circles all over again

Even when they take a break

The pain they made will still remain

Ghosts and shadows

Why do they hurt their own?

Another spirit left to haunt

Though it won’t be here very long

Another demon yet to chase

Though my timing may be too late

Ghosts and shadows

How do their numbers grow?

But if I turn out the lights

They’ll have room to hide

But if I turn out the lights

They’ll be free from my mind

Ghosts and shadows

We’ll never be alone


I’ll be posting this one over on Wattpad tomorrow. Let me know how much or little you like it! ❤

-iKari

Leave a Reply

