Need something to write about?

I’ve got you covered! 

Today, I was lucky enough to receive a belated birthday gift from one of my good friends… and guess what she got me? 

A book titled ‘642 Things to Write About’!

She knows me a little too well. 

Anyway, I got to lookin’ through some of the pages of writing prompts… and some are just odd, funny, or make me think ‘ooo, yeah…’. So, for today’s post, I thought it’d be a nice idea to just share some of my favorites so far! 

Here we go… 

  • Write a short story that is set in Argentina in 1932, in which a teachp plays a crucial role.
  • A man jumps from the fourtieth story of a building. As he’s passing the twenty-eighth floor, he hears a phone ring and regrets that he jumped. Why? 
  • Your friend calls to say she saw you in the back of a police car yesterday. What happened? 
  • Write a review of a novel or memoir you’ve never written. 
  • A woman thinks she might be living next door to her grandson.
  • A man giving a speech to a crowd of thousands is suddenly caught in a bald-faced lie. 
  • Choose how you will die.
  • Boxers or briefs? Discuss.
  • The greatness of sandwiches.
  • The cleaning lady.
  • Write a scene that begins: “It was the first time I killed a man.”
  • The general manager of the New York Yankees’ personal to-do list.
  • The next sound you hear and what caused it.
  • Lost and pregnant. (My favorite so far, I think.)
  • Tell the world’s saddest joke.
  • You are living in Atlanta in 1864. Atlanta is burning. What do you do?
  • Five ideas for a novel you’ll never write.
  • You have been evicted from your home, but rather than live on the street you go to Ikea. At night you hide in the bathroom until the janitor leaves. Write about your life. (My second favorite.)
  • You are a camp counselor. Make up a story that will scare the bejeezus out of your eight- to ten-year-old campers.
  • Write the lyrics of a catchy jingle- for a plumbing service. 
  • Write an X-rated Disney scenario. (I lied… this is my favorite so far.)
  • Write ten sayings for fortune cookies. 

And… one more; I’ll find a good one. 

  • Write a story in which each sentence will begin with a different letter of the alphabet, beginning with the letter A, and moving sequentially, i.e., B, C, D, and so forth. 

Well, I hope that helped you if you have some writer’s block! If it didn’t… I hope you were still entertained! Also, I’ve got… 619 more prompts in my little book for the future! 

So… let me know if any of these prompts sparked some inspiration for you, or if you actually use them for any stories, short or long! 

Happy writing! ♡

-iKari

Leave a Reply

